How does the chat work?
After completing the registration, you can't see the main chat or use the game chat until you reach the rank Master Sergeant. Also, if you are a lower rank than Master Sergeant, you'll be given a guide in the main chat of how to play Tanki Online.
There are two chats in Tanki Online: the lobby chat and the battle chat. The first one (the lobby chat) is available on the left side of the screen while a player is looking through the battle list or the garage. Messages sent in it are visible to all players that are in the lobby at the moment.
It is also possible to write a message addressing a specific player by clicking his or her nickname and picking "Write publicly" or "Write privately":
Note: nicknames of banned players in chats will be shown as regular text, without any highlighting.
This is how "Write publicly" and "Write privately" work:
- Player_Nickname; — Use a semi-colon to address a certain player but still allow the message to be seen by everyone on the server
- Player_Nickname: — Use a colon to address a certain player but make the message only visible by the player that sent and the player that received the message
The battle chat is accessible during battles. It is activated by pressing Enter, and is visible in the lower left corner of the screen. Sent messages will be visible to everyone in the battle. In the case of team battles (TDM, CTF, CP), the player has the option of either sending a message visible to everyone, or sending a message visible only to his/her team. To switch between these 2 modes press TAB while the chat window is open.
Sending Private Messages (PMs)
By selecting a player's name you can send him / her a Private Message which will be visible only to you and to the other player.
You don’t need to be on the same server to exchange private messages as the system works across the entire cluster. The only requirement is that you and the person you are talking to are both online.
After sending a private message one of the following events will happen:
- The message was correctly sent to the other user and will become visible in the chat
- The message couldn't be delivered since the receiver blocked PMs from users that are not in his / her Friends' list
- The message couldn't be delivered since the receiver was inside a battle
- The message couldn't be delivered since the receiver was offline
The following activities are not permitted and will result in (at Administration discretion) a temporary or permanent suspension from chat:
- insulting other users, sending provocative messages via chat, disturbing other chat users' communication, swearing;
- using profane language (anywhere, in any form) expressly or implicitly;
- flooding (sending messages that contain repetitive symbols, posting more than one same or similar posts, using more than 5 identical punctuation marks, symbols or letters in a row, using more than three smileys in a row);
- flaming (arguing 'just for arguing', exchanging messages in multi-user communication services -such as forums and chat rooms- that constitute a verbal war, often irrelevant to the initial subject of discussion);
- trolling (encouraging community members to perform activities that might cause adverse consequences, creating user names or engaging in other activities that might cause conflicts or insult community members);
- posting advertisements without prior consent from the Administration;
- performing or inciting a third party to perform actions which are illegal, including actions related to drugs, terrorism, attacks on legal authorities of any nature, pornography or any form of discrimination (e.g., by gender, age, nationality, ethnicity, religion);
- spreading political propaganda, political promotions, pre-election campaigning of any kind;
- spreading content that is of an explicitly sexual nature, or that is otherwise not suitable for minors (remember, there are children playing here as well).
How do I send a message to my team members only?
Press Enter to open a chat window. Then press TAB to switch between general messages and messages that are sent to your team only. The colour of the chat entry window should become the colour of your team.
How can I add players to my blocklist or remove them from it?
This can be done by entering the following commands into the game’s chat:
- /block name — blocks messages from the player (works everywhere);
- /unblock name — allows the receival of messages from the player (works everywhere);
- /blocklist — shows the list of blocked players (works only in the general chat);
- /unblockall — clears the list of all blocked players (works only in the general chat);
- /vote NICKNAME — reporting a player (works only in battle chat).
Note: Your blocklist is stored in your cache, so if you clear your cache or use another computer, your blocklist will be reset.
- #rules — Goes to "Rules" section;
- #plans — Goes to "Developers' Plans" page;
- #feedback — Goes to Ideas and Suggestions;
- #updates — Goes to "Patch Notes and Updates" topic in the forum;
- #clans — Goes to "Clans" section in the forum;
- #ranks — Goes to "Ranks" page;
- #forum — Goes to the main page of the forum;
- #theft — Goes to "What to do if your account has been stolen";
- #wiki — Goes to Tanki Online Wiki;
- #help — Goes to Help Site;
- #nick — Goes to How to change your nickname.